Hello fellow readers/martial artists.

This is actually my first blog post I’ve ever done and I’m sure it will be the first of many (now ifonly my space bar wouldn’t stick so bad) I’d probably have more to say about my own struggles than critique about the other guys I train with. They’re stronger, faster, and tougher than I am in almost every possible way. It’s hard to give feedback to them. The first lesson I had to learn (or rather re-learn) was I wasn’t training to be a better martial artist then them. I was training to be the best martial artist that I could be. If I could keep up with the guys, well that was just icing on the cake.

I’ve got many things I can work on. My moves are still very stomp, stomp, stomp. Haidong is a soft style and  I’m supposed to flow like water, but I still move sometimes like a square block. I imagine that thing can only be fixed with practice. Some of the stances require a little bit of flexibility as well. So my next goal is to increase my flexibility and do yoga on a regular basis to make those stances much more comfortable. If my stances become second nature, maybe that will help the rest of my body flow through the forms.

Here’s to another week of training!

-Archer-

