“Hanna Hanna” is a Korean phrase equivalent to ‘step by step’ in English.  Building a school is very much going to be a step-by-step process, but I am truly passionate about not only the beauty of Haidong Gumdo as a martial art but also the potential for this soft-style sword art to positively impact the lives of people around them.

I’ve handed their starting swords to my first two new students, and I am working on the transition with the established students who are going to be training with me as we start our dojang.

The more than I learn, the more that I know I don’t know.  The past week with Master Kim has shown me that Haidong Gumdo is much more like a rabbit hole from Alice in Wonderland.  There is no bottom that I am going to hit in my lifetime.

I’ve stepped into the rabbit hole, fallen the first few stories, and it looks like it’s going to be quite the ride down.

I’m not afraid of the fall.  I’m not overwhelmed by the depth of skill and knowledge that I have yet to master, because the gup levels, level-zero as it has been called, is training how to train.

One step at a time, if I keep training, keep my focus, I will be able to make my way ever further down the path.

One step at a time.

Hanna Hanna…

Haidong!

