In just under a month I’ll be taking my first test in Tang Soo Do, which is more memorable because it marks a return to formal unarmed training.  Most recently I tossed four years at Krav Maga on my own vial Eyal Yanilov’s Max Krav Maga program. The other ironic thing is that my training partner has to be the strongest man I’ve ever trained with.  He literally whipped me around with one arm, and I am not a tiny person.  I don’t mind, really.  It reminded me of learning judo against grown-ups as a 105-lb high school freshman.

Incidentally a 20-year-old college student has asked me to train in Krav Maga with him this fall.  The idea of keeping up with someone half my age is a bit daunting.

My main focus right now is on Haidong Gumdo.  Teaching, I am reminded of something Mrs. Wickstrom said, that we tend to criticize in others what we see as faults of our own.  While true in life, in practical terms it means that I’m going back through all of the mistakes I want to fix in the Nerd Posse, assuming they are also all my problem, and working hard on them.

One universal item I want to work on is physical conditioning.  I think I can, sort of, squeeze my old high school Cross Country schedule of cardio and strength training to augment the skills work.

I’ve lost 34 pounds in the past year since I returned to the martial arts, but 40 pounds remains to hit my goal of USAF uniform weight for my height (208 lbs).  Photos from master’s training where my spare tire firmly holds my fancy new belt in place are great motivation.  Also, I train with young men and women 8 – 15 years younger than me, and I’m going to have to be more deliberate if I want to keep up.

All of this culminates in the real goal: My master’s test is in the fall, and just as marathon runners set their milestones a year or more out, I am already thinking of my regular training in terms of Master Kim’s watchful gaze.

