Northwind Martial Arts LLC had a nice change of pace this weekend at our sparring clinic!

After a thorough run-through of Gibon Doncha and Ki Gong, we set about to work through Master Hinojosa’s sparring drills, start to finish, as the first step to incorporating them into our gup-level curriculum.  The brown belts dug in and worked hard in our extra-long but less formal setting.

There was a lot of material to cover.  Last summer Master Hinojosa’s clinic at White Tiger Martial Arts took about four hours to go through this material.  With a much smaller class we were able to race through the material in a mere three hours once we started the drills.

I saw a lot of excellent Mudo from the Eolgan-i yesterday!  The Nerds come from a variety of martial arts backgrounds, which meant that there were challenges and treats for everyone.  Everyone put in 100% effort as we worked our way through what was, for the brown belts, sixteen new sparring techniques, variations on principles, and applying moves against actual bodies that they had previously only seen in forms!

uke_and_tori from Fudebakdo AikidoMaster Hinojosa’s excellent drills covered both soft- and hard-style approaches to attacks.  I got to play Uke (sorry I don’t know a Korean word equivalent) to both soft-style throws (which Logic Monkey took to very well) and hard-style throws (which suited Archer’s TKD skills quite well).

Sorry, no photos since the imminent grass stains from our outdoor workout demanded civilian attire lest we ruin our uniforms.  I did enough breakfalls to turn my cargo pants green halfway up my thighs, but I’m deeply grateful for Mr. Park’s endless ukemi drills throughout my childhood.

The clinic wound down with some moving fighting drills similar to multiple cutting, working on how to turn, see, and then cut in non-expected directions, and we bowed out happy, and exhausted from a day of work well done!

KataSince one of the best ways I can serve my students is to continue my own training, I had a pleasant road trip out to Range Martial Arts for a chance to stand in line and participate instead of leading.  Master Koivisto led us in a brisk Gibon Doncha, some peaceful meditation, and then it was off to the races working on gumbeob for the rest of the night.  We worked on SSGB 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and got to work through 11 a few times before the end of class.  One more Ssangsu Gumbeob to go before I start on Shimsang, though I was told “Ssangsu Gumbeob 11 makes up for SSangsu Bumbeob 12.”  I can’t wait to find out.

Working through 11 did bring me up to the forms I felt I needed in order to get Ssangsu-Baldo-Chuggeom 1-12 correct.  I had real difficulty with 9-11 when I was learning them compared to the others, as each incorporates elements of the Ssangsu Gumbeob of the same number, and I hadn’t yet learned 9-12.

