So, a ways back, I did a thing where I checked in on my notes every day for three weeks.

Then, I did a thing where I went to bed on time every day for three weeks.

Then, I did a thing where I stuck to a diet and exercised every day for three weeks.

Except not.

Pictured: Not me.
Pictured: Not me.

See, here’s how it works:  I have a list of projects.

Each project has three phases.

Phase one is I have the project.  I can do it if I like, or not.

Phase two is I do the project.  Super intense to the point of ridiculous.  For three weeks.

Phase three is I dial it back to something sane, and another project gets moved from Phase 1 to Phase 2.

Except I forgot my deal:  baby steps.

So, I was planning to Phase 2 a workout project, then after that was done, Phase 2 a diet project.  Instead, I hit diet and exercise all at once.  AND I tried to kick up my study for promotion.  AND I didn’t exercise in baby steps.

See, baby steps would mean I add running every day, then dial it back to a couple times a week.  Or pushups and situps every day, and then dial it back.

Instead, I signed on for all of it.

When all was said and done, I managed to keep only my light cardio, and my diet.  I didn’t even get in my haidong training in a meaningful way.

So, does that mean my three-week project idea has failed?  By no means!  I did keep a diet and lose ten pounds in three weeks.  And I did do the daily light cardio.

So, what’s up next?

The next three weeks are scheduling.  I have a schedule, and I’m going to check everything on it off.

“But wait,” you say.  “Does this not violate baby steps?  Won’t it have you do everything?”

By no means.  All I have to do is show up.  If the schedule says write, it counts if I stare at a blank page for the whole time.  If the schedule says Haidong, standing in my yard with a sword for that time slot is good enough.

Odds are, I’ll do a little something anyway.  And that will still be a step up from where I am.

Slow Progress

Then, the three weeks after that?  Haidong, haidong, and more haidong.  Haidong in the morning before work.  Haidong on my lunch break.  Haidong when I get home.  And every other little crevasse.

I try and do a physical project, then a non-physical, then a physical, and so on.

I’ll let you know how it works out.

