I’ve heard this saying floating around the Haidong scene a lot. I’m not sure where it started, nor do I feel I fully understand it, but I feel that it’s appropriate based on my week.

So, I’ve had a long week, both at work and at home, and has left me in a bad mood for most of the week. However, the simple fact is, that doesn’t mean I get to stop training. I hadn’t done a whole lot of training the past few weeks, but that’s mostly been because of various injuries that I feared if I pushed them, would only make them worse. However, being grumpy isn’t a justified reason.

So, I got home from work, grumbled to myself a little bit, and just went outside and started training. Not particularly long I feel, maybe an hour tops, and I mostly worked on the things I wanted to do and not as much on the things I needed the most work on. However, the simple fact stands that today, I just didn’t want to do it, but I got out there and did it anyway. I didn’t let my mood keep me from being a martial artist today.

Now, any of you expecting this to be a message about how martial arts will fix all your problems, you’re gonna be disapointed here. I’m not really feeling in much of a better mood then when I started today. That’s not to say that martial arts doesn’t help with these things, lord only knows how much better I’ve gotten about my general mood in everyday life thanks to martial arts, but it’s just not that easy. I do feel slightly better knowing that at least I’m not just sitting around feeling grumpy about how bad I feel like I want to, I’m at least actually doing something with my time, and something that, even though I may not feel like it right now, I love doing and will make me better in the long run.

So there it is folks. If you’re feeling down and having a bad day, you’re still a martial artist, and martial artists need to train. So, go do your favorite forms for a little while, lord only knows we could always do forms a few more times. Don’t let a bad day keep you down, because then it’s just gonna keep getting worse.

