This is video from a martial arts school in China. I have several take-aways.
1] You don’t see any belts, fancy uniforms, or training equipment you couldn’t build with $100 bucks and a local hardware store.
2] No one breaks their back bowing or shouting, but I challenge you to show me a moment of disrespect between students and teachers.
3] True martial artists are polite to everyone, particularly in person, because almost none of these average-looking people look like they spent hours beating on objects much harder than your skull.
4] I may never study Kung Fu, but I have already been reminded that in the end, it is about having the discipline and effort to train. As I understand it, discipline and effort are the definition of Kung Fu.
Five Apes Tongbei Quan – old skool kung fu conditioning
