For the past few weeks my new inspiration for training has been taken from Disney. Specifically from the movie Mulan. There’s not a lot of sword use, only like, three scenes where a sword is used at all. For those of you who don’t know, (you must have lived under a BIG rock in the 90’s) Mulan is a story about a Chinese girl from a pretty wealthy family, who dresses up in her father’s armor and pretends to be a man to take his place in the upcoming war and bring honor to her family. At first, she’s not very good at it (in fact she sucks)

Image result for mulan training

being the only woman among a camp full of bigger, stronger men. (You guys at Northwind know what I mean-For a long time I was the only girl in class) I love the song ” I’ll Make a Man Out of You” and I love these lines: (it’s the majority of the song)

“You must be swift as the coursing river. (Be a man)With all the force of the great typhoon. (Be a man) With all the strength of a raging fire. Mysterious as the dark side of the moon”.

I also love the scene right as Mulan was getting kicked out of the army, she sees the large pole in the center of camp with an arrow stuck to the top. She thinks I.CAN. DO. THIS. She grabs the penny-style weights representing discipline and strength, wraps them around the pole and proceeds to climb up it. As she’s sweating up a storm, the sun rises and hits her face, she slips a little, but with every ounce of strength and determination that she’s got, she makes it to the top of the pole before any other man in the camp and throws down the arrow.  Over the next few days (or is it just one- Disney’s never specific about things) with more hard work everyone improves their training and she becomes the best of all the men. I now have this picture as the background on my laptop and a smaller one for my phone:

tumblr_mixvhfaum81s2ek9do1_500

I’m trying harder to believe in myself as I learn to do the one-handed cartwheel in form 9. Something I’ve never been able to do in my adult-life. (I may have done it once when I was 9 and in gymnastics but I don’t remember) at fist I was terrified of it, but with a little more strength training I have changed that mind set from: I don’t think I can do this, to: I CAN Do this. even though I’m not able to do the cartwheel yet, I’m going to keep working hard until it happens.

